Proud of my sweet William <3

Standard

Today, I took William to his pediatrician because we wanted to talk to his doctor about getting him tested for diabetes. After we explained why we were thinking that, she said she didn’t think it was diabetes but hypoglycemia (low blood sugar). So she sent us to get his blood drawn.

Now, a little background on William. Ever since he was born, he is the type to sit back and let you do what needs to be done. He doesn’t cry when he gets his shots, he doesn’t cry when he gets the wart on his foot (that we can’t seem to get rid of) froze off, doesn’t cry during check up….just lets you do it. Because of how he is, I thought he would do good during the blood draw but he completely BLEW ME AWAY!!!!

He just sat there! He didn’t even flinch when she put the needle in, didn’t cry when she put the tie around his arm, didn’t try to pull away, didn’t try to push my hands away or her hands away. He sat there and watched the whole time with NOT ONE PEEP!!! One of the other ladies walked back and saw it was a toddler and said “Wow, he’s being so quiet!” “Yeah, I’m the baby whisperer today!”

I must say that it was quite a relief to not have to pin him down and fight to restrain him like I have to with Isabelle. I am so proud of my handsome boy 🙂

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Proud of my sweet William | Lost In Expressions

  2. This is a wonderful thing to share. I am sure your heart breathed a sigh of relief at his willingness to trust in you and the phlebotomist. Such strength in innocence…

    • Thank you, it did breath a sigh of relief. I explained to him that he was going to get a poke then a bandaid and he was excited about the bandaid so he climbed right into the chair himself. I warned him when she was about to poke him and he didn’t flinch, just watched her 🙂

Leave a Reply

